Review of a Netgear N900

The actual label is “Netgear N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router.”  I got mine from Discount Electronics for $15 which is why I jumped on it like a hungry mouser (cat).  I needed a better wifi router for my son so I ordered 2.

What’s not to like?  This  router has both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands with all those b/g/n and a/c stuff.  The 5 GHz band is good for shorter ranged high volume data connections.  This router was reviewed by other sources I trust to have rock solid connections out to 300 feet.  It produces a 10-15% stronger signal (according to the Wifi scanner app on my cell phone) at the same location (my master bedroom) than my Belkin Wireless G router does.  This is the same bedroom my Arris TG862g won’t even reach.

So far I have only been using it as an Acess Point off my Arris TG862g.  I am waiting on a cable modem with telephone jack(s) to arrive.  When that does, I will experiment with moving my local land line onto the internet while using the Netgear N900 to take care of all my internet connectivity needs.  I will also probably sell the Arris and the Linksys cable modem.  I will post about this once I have something more to report.

If you decide to set up your Netgear N900 as an Access Point I will make one recommendation.  The menu you use to activate the AP suggests NOT using a fixed IP address.  I tried that.  The AP worked but I couldn’t access it anymore because I couldn’t tell what it’s IP address was.  You normally access an AP by putting in its IP address (say 192.168.1.230) in your browser.  If you decide to use a fixed IP address you should make sure your DHCP server range excludes that address.  If there is no way to specifically exclude an address simply lower the address range that the DCHP will serve and make the fixed address an IP number higher than that.

Since I have about 7 computers, a cell phone, an Android tablet and a Chromebook laying around here it’s not like I don’t have connectivity needs.  3 of these computers are always on, running BIONIC applications, so I really need a 24/7 level of support.

I have offered above in the “reviewed/sources” links for all the details about how good this Netgear N900 is so I won’t recapitulate those details here.  Thanks for reading.

Tlm

Author: Tom G

A baby-boomer with a long Technology-Geek history and a even longer career in non-Technology-Geek work (I took what I could get, when I could get it). Do you remember IBM punch cards? I do. I am working, semi-retired, moderately Senior Citizen with a need to not get bored. So I am considering the possible insanity of going to graduate school. If it happens, I expect to come out with an MA in Communications Study that will allow me to write better and speak about what I know better.

Leave a Reply

