Not renting a cable modem every month is cheaper

I was already aware when I opted to switch my internet from AT&T to cable that I would need to buy my own cable modem.  So far I am the “proud” owner of a Linksys CM3008 and an Arris TG862g. The Arris is a “telephone ready” residential gateway and the Linksys is a plain bread and butter cable modem with no router or wifi or anything.

Since I own an old basic router with wifi (Belkin Wireless G) that has worked as both a router and as an Access Point I was able to immediately get things setup.  It worked fine.  If my basic goal was simply to replace my internet with a cheaper choice that served my needs this would do it.  But wait!  There’s more (as I said in another post).

I wanted to see if I could lower my landline cost too.  I need to note that my wife is comfortable only with a landline.  She is afraid she would lose a cell phone.  One possibility to is to move to a VOIP solution.  It needs to integrate with the house phone system so that it transparently works just like AT&T.

Enter, the “telephone ready” cable modem or residential gateway.  The distinction appears to be exactly that .  A “telephone ready” cable modem still will need a router to provide internet service to multiple internet devices.  It can be plugged directly into a phone jack and will provide phone service to the rest of the house.  I have one of these on order because of the results I got from using an Arris TG862g.

I am going to review how good or bad the Arris TG862g is in another post. I would not be exploring yet more products if it had been very good.

Tlm

 

Author: Tom G

A baby-boomer with a long Technology-Geek history and a even longer career in non-Technology-Geek work (I took what I could get, when I could get it). Do you remember IBM punch cards? I do. I am working, semi-retired, moderately Senior Citizen with a need to not get bored. So I am considering the possible insanity of going to graduate school. If it happens, I expect to come out with an MA in Communications Study that will allow me to write better and speak about what I know better.

Leave a Reply

