Internet and phone service on the cheap

A couple of months ago I noticed that AT&T was charging me close to ~$100/month (USD) for a voice line and ADSL that had less than 1 MB/sec upload speed.  I wondered if I could reduce my costs?

First I investigated simply moving to a cheaper ADSL plan.  The best AT&T could do would reduce my cost about $12/mo while dropping the internet to their slowest speed.  And I still wouldn’t have 1 MB/sec upload speed.  In fact, AT&T doesn’t offer a 1 MB/sec upload speed.  This could be an issue if I wanted to apply for a “work from home” customer service or technical support job.  All of them require at least a 1 MB/sec upload speed.

Fortunately, the local cable network company offers service in my area.  They were also offering a sale on a 10 MB down, 1 MB up plan.  $15/mo.  Later I learned that this plan is usually $30/mo.  So in a year I expect the price to rise.

So after paying an installation fee and buying a couple of cable modems I now have perfectly good internet for less.  I will note, I am not a big video or movie download person so this basic internet is fine for me.

To recap.  1) I am now paying about $16/mo for the internet.  2) My phone bill went from nearly $100 down to about $55 this month.  But wait!  There’s more.  🙂  That will have to wait for the next article.

Tlm

 

Author: Tom M

An IT guy with a long history. I started in computers when mainframes and later dial-up computer bulletin boards were what was happening. My bulletin board morphed into a website with downloads and my career has morphed into "do something" or you will get bored. I do projects involving IT Consulting and web development.

Leave a Reply

