Should I buy a Chromebook as my primary machine?

If you spend 99% of your time online using a Web browser, sending/receiving e-mail, printing out coupons etc then the answer is “Yes.”

If you have windows or macintosh specific programs running on your machine at home or in the office which has fulltime Internet connectivity then the answer is “Yes.” (The remote desktop option will let you run those windows specific applications on the machine “back there” and get the results wherever you are tied into the Internet at).

If you are out in the middle of know-where (pun intended) with no Internet Connectivity (not even a mobile hot spot) then the answer is “maybe.”  In the last year the Chromebook applications for doing writing and reading/creating Gmail offline have improved significantly. Since these run on any Chromebook it doesn’t matter if you have a brand new one or an older one.

So if you want a low-cost, fast booting, highly transportable laptop I commend the entire Chromebook line to you.  If you have specific needs like 10 hour battery time then you will need to read the reviews to find what you want.

I will say that an Asus c200 (smaller screen) or Aus c300 (larger screen) which has a 10+ hour unplugged from the wall time may be an excellent choice.  I like the quick/ease of use of my Aus c300.  Its running as low as $199 new and $118 used as I write this.

Author: Tom M

An IT guy with a long history. I started in computers when mainframes and later dial-up computer bulletin boards were what was happening. My bulletin board morphed into a website with downloads and my career has morphed into "do something" or you will get bored. I do projects involving IT Consulting and web development.

Leave a Reply

